Traumatic births: women tell their stories

It can be hard for women to speak out about their traumatic birth experiences. There’s a widespread perception that all that matters is a healthy baby, and that women should be grateful for a modern system of medical care that means they are unlikely to die in childbirth.

Of course, it’s great that most of us don’t die in childbirth any more. But not dying is setting the bar pretty low for our expectations for medical care. If we go into hospital for surgery, for example, we do usually expect a bit more from the care we receive than simply “not dying”.

So I welcome it when women are prepared to talk about what happened to them in childbirth and to highlight some of the poor practice that still exists. A new photo series called Exposing the Silence gives a voice to women who have experienced shockingly bad care.

The women in the photos speak of having procedures such as episiotomies or membrane sweeps performed without their consent or of being able to feel themselves being cut during caesarean-sections. A lot of the women speak of the trauma they felt after having their preferences ignored or dismissed.

These stories come from the US, but I’ve heard similar experiences in the UK. The story recounted by one of the women is not, sadly, uncommon:

“‘Do you understand you are doing this without my consent?’ As they are putting needles into my arm, I’m telling them, ‘You are doing this against my will.’ Their response, even as my strong contractions grew faster and I was in active labor, was, ‘I can’t wait all night, and we are doing this now.’ Less than an hour later, he was born, taken from me before I could hold him longer than a minute or two, and not returned until almost three hours later, even though he had no complications. I cried every minute and couldn’t stop thinking, this isn’t supposed to be like this.”

Leave a Reply

